State Council of Higher Education for Virginia Skip Nav  |  HOME Calendar |  Directory  |  Intranet  |  Webmail     

Library Advisory Committee (LAC)

* Member of VIVA Steering Committee

LAC Contact List

  • Public Institutional Representatives

    LAC members listed in order of Public Institutions
    Chair
    Mr. Brent Roberts
    Dean of the Library 
    Longwood University
    Janet D. Greenwood Library
    201 High Street
    Farmville, VA 23909-1897
    Ph: (434) 395-2083
    Email: 

    robertsbs2@longwood.edu

    Ms. Mary Sellen
    University Librarian 
    Christopher Newport University
    Paul and Rosemary Trible Library
    1 Avenue of the Arts
    Newport News, VA 23606 
    Ph: (757) 594-7130
    Fax: (757) 594-7717
    Email: mary.sellen@cnu.edu
    * Ms. Carrie Cooper
    Dean of University Libraries
    College of William and Mary
    Earl Gregg Swem Library
    P.O. Box 8794
    Williamsburg, VA 23187
    Ph:(757) 221-3055
    Email: clcooper@wm.edu 
    * Mr. John Zenelis
    Dean of University Libraries
    and University Librarian
    George Mason University
    Fenwick Library
    MSN 2FL
    Fairfax, VA 22030-4444 
    Ph: (703) 993-2491
    Email: jzenelis@gmu.edu
    Dr. Bethany Nowviskie
    Dean of Libraries
    James Madison University
    JMU Libraries
    MSC 1703
    Harrisonburg, VA 22807
    Ph: (540) 568-5382
    Email: nowvisbp@jmu.edu
    Ms. Suzanne Sherry
    Library Director
    John Tyler Community College
    800 Charter Colony Pkwy., Midlothian, VA 23114
    Ph: 804-594-1523 (Midlothian Campus)

    ssherry@jtcc.edu

    Ms. C. Lynne Harrison
    Coordinator of Access Services & Co- interim Dean of Library Services
    Norfolk State University
    Lyman Beecher Brooks Library 
    700 Park Avenue
    Norfolk, VA 23504-8010
    Ph: (757) 823-2422
    Email: clharrison@nsu.edu
    * Dr. George Fowler
    University Librarian
    Old Dominion University
    Perry Library
    4427 Hampton Blvd
    Norfolk, VA 23529-0256
    Ph: (757) 683-5904
    Email: gfowler@odu.edu
    * Mr. Steven Helm
    Dean of the Library
    Radford University
    McConnell Library
    P.O. Box 6881
    Radford, VA 24142
    Ph: (540) 831-6624
    Email: shelm@radford.edu
    Ms. Irene Handy
    Library Coordinator
    Richard Bland College
    Richard Bland College Library
    8311 Halifax Road
    Petersburg, VA 23805
    Ph: (804) 862-6228
    Email: ihandy@rbc.edu
    Mr. Richard Hodges
    Director of Learning Resources 
    Thomas Nelson Community College
    Learning Resource Center
    99 Thomas Nelson Drive
    Hampton, VA 23670
    Ph: (757) 825-2871
    Email: hodgesr@tncc.edu
    * Mr. Steven Litherland
    Associate Vice President for Libraries
    Tidewater Community College
    121 College Place
    Norfolk, VA 23510
    Ph: (757) 822-1944
    Email: slitherland@tcc.edu
    * Ms. Rosemary Arneson
    University Librarian
    University of Mary Washington
    Simpson Library
    1801 College Avenue
    Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4664 
    Ph: (540) 654-1147
    Email: rarneso3@umw.edu
    * Dr. John Unsworth
    University Librarian and Dean of Libraries
    University of Virginia
    P.O. Box 400113
    Charlottesville, VA 22904-0113
    Ph: (434) 924-7849
    Email: jmu2m@virginia.edu
    Mr. Robin Benke
    Director of Library Services
    University of Virginia's College at Wise
    John Cook Wyllie Library
    One College Avenue
    Wise, VA 24293
    Ph: (276) 328-0150
    Fax: (276) 328-0105
    Email: rpb@uvawise.edu
    * Mr. John Ulmschneider
    University Librarian
    Virginia Commonwealth University
    VCU Libraries
    P.O. Box 842033
    Richmond, VA 23284-2033 
    Ph: (804) 828-1105
    Fax: (804) 828-0151
    Email: john_ulmschneider@vcu.edu
    Ms. Diane Jacob
    Library Director
    Virginia Military Institute
    JTL Preston Library
    345 Letcher Ave.
    Lexington, VA 24450
    Ph: (540) 464-7566
    Fax: (540) 464-7279
    Email: jacobdb@vmi.edu
    Dr. Elsie Weatherington
    Dean, University Library
    Virginia State University
    Johnston Memorial Library
    P.O Box 9406
    Petersburg, VA 23806
    Ph: (804) 524-5040
    Fax: (804) 524-6959
    Email: eweatherington@vsu.edu
     * Dr. Tyler Walters 
    Dean of University Libraries
     Virginia Tech
    University Libraries
    P.O. Box 90001
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001
     Ph: (540) 231-5595
    Email: tyler.walters@vt.edu 



  • Private Institutional Representatives

    LAC members listed in order of Private Institutions
    Ms. Carol Creager
    Director
    Mary Baldwin College
    Martha S. Grafton Library
    109 E Frederick Street
    Staunton, VA 24401
    Ph: (540) 887-7310
    Fax: (540) 887-7297
    Email: ccreager@marybaldwin.edu 
    Mr. Kevin Butterfield
    University Librarian  
    University of Richmond

    Boatwright Memorial Library
    28 Westhampton Way
    University of Richmond, VA 23173

     
     Ph: (804) 289-8456
    Email: kbutterf@richmond.edu 
    * Mr. John Tombarge
    VICULA Chair
    University Librarian  
    Washington and Lee University
    204 West Washington Street
    Lexington, VA 24450-2116 
    Ph: (540) 458-8134
    Fax: ( 540) 458-4462
    Email: tombargej@wlu.edu 

  • Administrative Representatives

    LAC administrative member information
    Ms. Beverly Rebar
    Senior Associate for Academic and Legislative Affairs 
    State Council of Higher Education
    101 N. 14th St.
    Richmond, VA 23219 
    Ph: (804) 371-0571
    Email: beverlyrebar@schev.edu 
    * Ms. Tara Cassidy
    Director of Library Services  
    Virginia Community College System
    Arboretum III
    300 Arboretum Place, Suite 200
    Richmond, VA 23216 
    Ph: (804) 819-4976
    Email: 
    tcassidy@vccs.edu
    * Ms. Anne C. Osterman
    VIVA Director
    Virtual Library of Virginia
    George Mason University
    4400 University Drive - MSN 2FL
    Fairfax, VA 22030
    Ph: (703) 993-4652
    Fax: (703) 993-4662
    Email: aelguind@gmu.edu 
    Dr. Sandra Treadway
    Librarian of Virginia 
    Library of Virginia
    800 East Broad Street
    Richmond, VA 23219-8000 
    Ph: (804) 692-3535
    Fax: (804) 692-3594
    Email: sandra.treadway@lva.virginia.gov

  • Ex Officio

    LAC Ex-Officio members
     Secretary
    * Ms. Sue Erickson

    Library Director
    Virginia Wesleyan University
    5817 Wesleyan Drive
    Virginia Beach, VA 23455
     Ph: (757)455-3220
    Email: serickson@vwu.edu
    * Ms. Crystal Newell
    Coordinator of Library Services
    Piedmont Virginia Community College
    Betty Sue Jessup Library
    501 College Drive
    Charlottesville, VA 22902
    Ph: (434) 961-5339
    Email: CNewell@pvcc.edu
    * Mr. Luke Vilelle
    University Librarian
    Hollins University
    Wyndham Robertson Library
    7950 E. Campus Drive
    Roanoke, VA 24020
    Ph: (540) 362-6232
    Email: lvilelle@hollins.edu

© 2019 State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 10th Floor  |  James Monroe Building   |  Richmond, VA 23219
804-225-2600

If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format per Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. ? 794 (d), please call 804-225-2600.