Skip to Content
Online Services | Agencies | Governor | Help
Search Virginia.Gov
Skip Navigation  |  Intranet  |  Contact SCHEV    
> Overview
> Calendar
> Careers
> Newsroom
> Directions
> Staff
> Advisory Committees
> Contact Council
> Members
> Meetings & Agendas
> Presentations
> Policy Discussions

> Adult Education Programs
> Degree Inventory
> I Am the One
> List of Colleges
> Preparing for College
> Publications
> Request for Transcripts
> Student Complaint Process

> Financial Aid Overview
> Undergraduate Programs
> Graduate Programs
> Academic Common Market
> Domicile Information
> Financial Aid Blog
> Code of Virginia
> Higher Education Legislation
> Legislative Overview
> Legislative Liaisons
> Higher Ed Overview
> Boards of Visitors
> Military Education
> No Child Left Behind
> Outstanding Faculty Awards
> P.O.P.E
> Virginia SARA
> State Education Agencies

Contact: Kathleen Kincheloe(804)786-2323


For Immediate Release

January 27, 2010

SCHEV and Dominion Resources Announce the 2010 Outstanding Faculty Award Recipients

RICHMOND — The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources are pleased to announce that 12 faculty members from Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities have been selected as recipients of the 2010 Outstanding Faculty Award (OFA).

This year marks the 24th anniversary of the awards program, which honors faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration and public service. Each of the 12 recipients will receive an engraved award and a $5,000 check underwritten by the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources. The OFA program is administered by SCHEV and funded by a grant from the Dominion Foundation, which has fully supported the OFA program since 2005.

2010 Outstanding Faculty Award recipients:

Dr. Terry Alford
Professor of History
Northern Virginia Community College

Dr. Romesh Batra
Professor of Engineering Science and Mechanics
Virginia Tech

Dr. Maura Borrego (Rising Star recipient)
Assistant Professor of Engineering Education
Virginia Tech

Dr. Lennis Echterling
Professor of Counseling Psychology
James Madison University

Dr. Teresa Keller
Professor of Mass Communications
Emory and Henry College

Mr. Paul Marcus
Professor of Law
College of William and Mary

Dr. Margo Mastropieri
Professor of Education
George Mason University

Dr. Ellen Mayock
Professor of Spanish
Washington and Lee University

Dr. Mark Patterson (Teaching with Technology recipient)
Associate Professor of Marine Science
College of William and Mary

Dr. J. Peter Pham (Rising Star recipient)
Associate Professor of Justice Studies
James Madison University

Ms. Lisa Russ Spaar
Professor of English and Creative Writing
University of Virginia

Dr. Doyle Temple
Professor of Physics
Hampton University

“The Council is proud to once again partner with Dominion to honor these extraordinary educators,” said Daniel J. LaVista, SCHEV’s Executive Director. “Their inspiring scholarship, research, and community service have helped Virginia’s colleges and universities continue their ascendancy among the finest higher education institutions in the nation.”

“Dominion is pleased to continue our role in recognizing these talented teachers, researchers, and leaders,” said William C. Hall Jr., Dominion’s Vice President of Corporate Communications & Community Affairs and president of the Dominion Foundation. “Though this year’s recipients represent institutions with distinct and diverse missions, they all share a commitment to educating and serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.”

The recipients will be recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration, and public service during a Feb. 18 ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond. This year’s 117 applications were initially evaluated by a peer review committee comprised of former OFA recipients and other members of the higher education community. Then a final committee of Virginia community and academic leaders selected 12 recipients whose accomplishments strongly reflect the missions of their respective institutions. Since the first awards ceremony in 1987, a total of 280 Virginia faculty members - including the 2010 recipients - have received this high honor.

SCHEV is the Commonwealth’s coordinating body for Virginia’s system of higher education. The agency provides policy guidance and budget recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly, and is a resource for information on higher education issues and Virginia colleges and universities. SCHEV has administered the Outstanding Faculty Awards since its inception in 1986. Photos and information about each of this year's recipients can be found on the web at

Dominion is one of the nation’s largest producers of energy, with a portfolio of more than 27,500 megawatts of generation. Dominion serves retail energy customers in 12 states. For more information about Dominion, visit the company’s Web site at

# # #

Bookmark and Share