Skip to Content
Online Services | Agencies | Governor | Help
Search Virginia.Gov
Skip Navigation  |  Intranet  |  Contact SCHEV    
> Overview
> Calendar
> Careers
> Newsroom
> Directions
> Staff
> Advisory Committees
> Contact Council
> Members
> Meetings & Agendas
> Presentations
> Policy Discussions

> Adult Education Programs
> Degree Inventory
> I Am the One
> List of Colleges
> Preparing for College
> Publications
> Request for Transcripts
> Student Complaint Process

> Financial Aid Overview
> Undergraduate Programs
> Graduate Programs
> Academic Common Market
> Domicile Information
> Financial Aid Blog
> Code of Virginia
> Higher Education Legislation
> Legislative Overview
> Legislative Liaisons
> Higher Ed Overview
> Boards of Visitors
> Military Education
> No Child Left Behind
> Outstanding Faculty Awards
> P.O.P.E
> Virginia SARA
> State Education Agencies


Contact:  Kirsten Nelson
(804) 225-2627
For Immediate Release

December 10, 2014

SCHEV and Dominion Announce 2015 Outstanding Faculty Award Recipients

RICHMOND — The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources are pleased to announce the thirteen faculty members from Virginia’s colleges and universities who have been selected as recipients of the 2015 Outstanding Faculty Award (OFA).

“With Dominion’s support, the annual recognition of Virginia’s outstanding faculty members is truly one of the agency’s most rewarding activities,” said SCHEV Director Peter Blake. “We are honored to highlight the accomplishments of these professors who lend their extraordinary talents to their students, their institutions, and the Commonwealth of Virginia.”

“This is the 11th year Dominion has sponsored the Outstanding Faculty Awards,” said Hunter A. Applewhite, president of the Dominion Foundation. “When you read the nomination packets of these recipients, you are struck by their passion for their subjects and their devotion to sharing it with their students.”

This year marks the 29th anniversary of the statewide awards program, which honors faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration, and public service. The thirteen recipients were selected from a pool of 88 nominees based on accomplishments that strongly reflect the missions of their respective institutions.

2015 Outstanding Faculty Award recipients:

Mr. Callan Bentley
Assistant Professor of Geology
Northern Virginia Community College

Dr. Stephen Bigelow Cushman
Robert C. Taylor Professor of English
University of Virginia

Dr. Paul Philip D’Andrea
Clarence Robinson Professor of Theater and English Literature
George Mason University

Dr. Gail Elizabeth Dodge
Professor of Physics
Old Dominion University

Dr. Albert D. Farrell
Professor Psychology
Virginia Commonwealth University

Dr. Jennifer Jones (Powell)
Associate Professor of Education
Radford University

Dr. Sarah Couborne Kucenas
Assistant Professor of Biology
University of Virginia

Dr. Lance Allen Liotta
Professor of Systems Biology
George Mason University

Dr. Miriam Liss
Professor of Psychology
University of Mary Washington

Dr. Tim Orland Moore II
Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Virginia Military Institute

Dr. Aswini Pradhan
Professor of Engineering
Norfolk State University

Dr. Deborah Kay Steinberg
CSX Professor of Marine Science
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
The College of William and Mary

Dr. James E. Turner, Sr.
Read ’41 Institute Professor of Arts and Sciences
Biology Department Head
Virginia Military Institute

The recipients will be recognized during a February 19 ceremony at The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, at which they will be addressed by Governor Terry McAuliffe. Each of the recipients will receive an engraved award and $5,000 underwritten by the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources. Dominion is the parent company of Dominion Virginia Power.

The OFA program is administered by SCHEV and funded by a grant from the Dominion Foundation, which has fully supported the OFA program since 2005. Since the first awards ceremony in 1987, a total of 341 Virginia faculty members - including the 2015 recipients - have received this high honor.

SCHEV is the Commonwealth’s coordinating body for Virginia’s system of higher education. The agency provides policy guidance and budget recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly, and is a resource for information on higher education issues for Virginia colleges and universities. SCHEV has administered the Outstanding Faculty Awards since its inception in 1986.

The Dominion Foundation is dedicated to improving the physical, social and economic well-being of the communities served by Dominion companies. Dominion and the Foundation support nonprofit causes that meet basic human needs, protect the environment, support education and promote community vitality. For more information about Dominion (NYSE: D), headquartered in Richmond and one of the nation’s largest producers and transporters of energy, visit