State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

HOME |  Calendar |  Careers |  Directory |  Intranet |  Webmail   

Student Advisory Committee

The Student Advisory Committee is a student council consisting of one full-time student from all four-year public colleges and universities in the Commonwealth of Virginia; four students representing the Virginia Community College System; and two students representing private institutions. The committee assembles at least twice annually to advise the council on systemwide issues of concern to Virginia's college students.

2017-2018 Student Advisory Committee Members

Blue Ridge Community College: Maher AL Tayara
Christopher Newport University: 
Kenneth Kidd
College of William and Mary: Grace Murray
Eastern Shore Community College: Daniel Elliott
George Mason University: Devyn Goldstein
James Madison University: Jewel Hurt
Longwood University: Morgan Rollins, co-chair (returning member)
New River Community College: Tylisha Butler
Norfolk State University: 
Dwight Parker
Old Dominion University: Priscilla M. Obuabang
Radford University: Ryley Harris
Randolph Macon:  Joshua Byrd
Rappahannock Community College:
  Gabrielle Balderson
Richard Bland College: 
Luis D. Torres Serrano
Stratford University:  Grace Ellis, co-chair
University of Mary Washington: Theodosius Zotos
University of Virginia: Elizabeth Parker
University of Virginia's College at Wise: Natalie M. Chapman
Virginia Commonwealth University: Isaiah Harvin (returning member)
Virginia Military Institute: Nathaniel Millard
Virginia State University: Brittany McCoy
Virginia Tech: Saherah Khan

Code of Virginia § 23-9.3:1. Student advisory committee.

The State Council of Higher Education shall appoint a student advisory committee comprised of students enrolled in public institutions of higher education in the Commonwealth and students enrolled in private, accredited and nonprofit institutions of higher education in the Commonwealth, whose primary purpose is to provide collegiate or graduate education and not to provide religious training. Appointments shall be made in a manner to ensure broad student representation from among such institutions.

All appointments shall be made for a term of one year each, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired term. Members of the student advisory committee may be reappointed to serve subsequent or consecutive terms.

The State Council shall ensure that at least one member of the student advisory committee is reappointed each year. The student advisory committee shall elect a chairman from among its members.

The advisory committee shall meet at least twice annually and shall advise the State Council of Higher Education regarding such matters as may come before the advisory committee. 

Student Advisory Council Meeting Minutes Archive

For 2015 minutes and prior, please contact Paula Robinson.

© 2017 State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 10th Floor  |  James Monroe Building   |  Richmond, VA 23219

If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format per Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. ? 794 (d), please call 804-225-2600.