State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

HOME |  Calendar |  Careers |  Directory |  Intranet |  Webmail   

Military Education Advisory Committee (MEAC)

The Military Education Advisory Committee (MEAC) implements and monitors military-related education policies and facilitates communication regarding military education. The Committee is comprised of representatives from two- and four-year public institutions with liaisons from various interested state and military-related agencies.

Responsibilities of the Committee
Advise the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia and SCHEV staff on:

  1. Elements of a statewide military-friendly policy for public institutions of higher education,
  2. Quality advising and education delivery for military-related students, and
  3. Compliance and/or regulatory issues that affect military-related students.

MEAC Contact List

  • Member Contact Information

    MEAC members listed by last name
    Heather Sorrell
    Coordinator of Student Affairs
    VCCS hsorrell@vccs.edu
    804-819-4979
    Kathryn Anderson
    Director of Financial Aid and VA certifying official
    TNCC andersonk@tncc.edu
    757-825-2851
    Ross Johnson
    Director of Military Affairs
    VSU rdjohnson@vsu.edu
    Gary Bissell
    Deputy Chief of Staff
    VMI bissellga@vmi.edu
    Bruce Brunson
    Executive Director, Center for Military and Veterans Education
    TCC - VB bbrunson@tcc.edu
    757-822-7701
    Andy Casiello
    Associate Vice President for Distance Learning
    ODU acasiell@odu.edu
    Jennifer Connors
    Director of Military Services
    GMU jconnor3@gmu.edu
    Lisa Duncan Raines
    Dean of Enrollment Services and University Registrar
    CNU duncanl@cnu.edu
    757-594-7846
    Trudy Ham
    VA Program Coordinator/Office of the Registrar
    JMU hamth@jmu.edu
    540-568-6569
    Tyler Hart
    Financial Aid and Institutional Research
    RBC jhart@RBC.EDU
    Takesha McMiller
    Director of Military Services and Outreach
    NVCC tmcmiller@nvcc.edu
    703-933-1432
    Bill Kennan
    Director, Military Resource Center
    RU bkennan@radford.edu
    Sallie Marchello
    University Registrar
    CWM slmarc@wm.edu
    757-221-2801
    Ed Willis NSU emwillis@nsu.edu
    Tim O'Donnell
    Associate Provost for Academic Engagement and Student Success
    UMW todonnel@umw.edu
    540-654-1252
    Narda Porter
    Registrar
    UVA Wise nnb3h@uvawise.edu
    Stephanie Clements
    Veteran Affairs Coordinator
    VT sclemen@vt.edu
    540-231-5815
    Carol Fleming
    Assistant Vice Provost for Outreach and Engagement
    JMU fleminca@jmu.edu
    John Miller
    Assistant Professor of Early American Literature
    LU millerjd@longwood.edu
    434-395-2810
    Dave Wolcott
    Associate Vice Provost for Academic Accreditation
    UVA daw5h@virginia.edu
    434-924-7244
    Bill Wilson
    Chairman of our Veteran Scholars Task Force
    JMU wilsonwr@jmu.edu
    Daphne Rankin
    Associate Vice Provost, Strategic Enrollment Management
    VCU dlrankin@vcu.edu
    Stephen Ross
    Director, Military Student Services
    VCU stross@vcu.edu
  • Liaisons to the MEAC

    Annie Walker
    Director, State Approving Agency
    DVS
    annie.walker@dvs.virginia.gov

© 2017 State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 10th Floor  |  James Monroe Building   |  Richmond, VA 23219
804-225-2600

If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format per Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. ? 794 (d), please call 804-225-2600.