Skip to Content
Online Services | Agencies | Governor | Help
Search Virginia.Gov
Skip Navigation  |  Intranet  |  Contact SCHEV    
> Overview
> Staff
> Calendar
> Careers
> Directions
> Newsroom
> Members
> Contact Council
> Meetings & Agendas
> Presentations
> Policy Discussions
> Advisory Committees
> Preparing for College
> List of Colleges
> Publications
> I Am the One
> Degree Inventory
> Transfer Tool
> Graduate Programs
> Adult Education Programs
> Student Complaint Process
> Financial Aid Overview
> Undergraduate
> Graduate
> Academic Common Market
> Domicile Information
> Blog
> Legislative Overview
> Higher Education Legislation
> Legislative Liaisons
> Code of Virginia
> Higher Ed Overview
> Boards of Visitors
> College Access Grant
> Military Education
> No Child Left Behind
> Outstanding Faculty Awards
> P.O.P.E
> Virginia SARA
> State Education Agencies

Council Committees

At its meeting on September 10, 2007, the Council decided to make a change to its meeting structure.  All future meetings will be conducted without the use of committees.  As a result, the Resources, Academic Affairs, and Outreach Committees no longer exist.  The Executive Committee will remain.  Additionally, the Council has decided to use a consent agenda for certain items.  Determination of all items on the consent agenda will be made by certain Council members designated by the Chairman, in consultation with the Executive Director.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee deals with all those areas concerning the internal management of Council operations including the organization and effective functioning of the Council, its staff and its work. Examples of its jurisdiction are:

  • Serve as the short- planning arm of the Council
  • How the Council organizes itself; committee structure; procedures
  • Staff organization and responsibilities
  • Council budget
  • Evaluate Council and committees' effectiveness and progress
  • Training and continuing education for Council
  • Prioritize the agenda for each Council meeting
  • Create master calendar for Council
  • Performance review of Director
  • Current Members: Whittington Clement (Chair), Jim Dyke, Eva Hardy, and Alan Wurtzel
    Staff Liaison: Dan LaVista
    Secretary: Lee Ann Rung