Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Skip Navigation  |  Intranet  |  Contact SCHEV    
> Overview
> Calendar
> Careers
> Newsroom
> Directions
> Staff
> Advisory Committees
> Contact Council
> Members
> Meetings & Agendas
> Presentations
> Policy Discussions

> Adult Education Programs
> Degree Inventory
> I Am the One
> List of Colleges
> Preparing for College
> Publications
> Request for Transcripts
> Student Complaint Process

> Financial Aid Overview
> Undergraduate Programs
> Graduate Programs
> Academic Common Market
> Domicile Information
> Financial Aid Blog
> Code of Virginia
> Higher Education Legislation
> Legislative Overview
> Legislative Liaisons
> Higher Ed Overview
> Boards of Visitors
> Military Education
> No Child Left Behind
> Outstanding Faculty Awards
> P.O.P.E
> Virginia SARA
> State Education Agencies


Contact:  Kathleen Kincheloe
(804) 786-2323
For Immediate Release

January 26, 2011

SCHEV and Dominion Resources Announce Recipients
Of the 25th Annual Outstanding Faculty Awards

RICHMOND —The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources are pleased to announce that 12 faculty members from Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities have been selected as recipients of the 2011 Outstanding Faculty Awards (OFA).

This year marks the silver anniversary of the awards program, which honors faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration, and public service. Each of the 12 recipients will receive an engraved award and a $5,000 check underwritten by the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources. The OFA program is administered by SCHEV and funded by a grant from the Dominion Foundation, which has fully supported the OFA program since 2005.

“Dominion is proud to once again sponsor the Outstanding Faculty Awards program, which has honored Virginia’s most talented educators and researchers for 25 years,” said Virginia M. Board, President of the Dominion Foundation. “These individuals strengthen their respective communities and the entire Commonwealth through their commitment to teaching and service. They serve as an inspiration to us all, both in and out of the classroom.”

2011 Outstanding Faculty Award recipients:

Dr. Melanie Almeder
Associate Professor of Creative Writing and Literature
Roanoke College

Dr. Timothy Beatley
Professor of Sustainable Communities
University of Virginia

Dr. Rebecca Benefiel (Rising Star recipient)
Assistant Professor of Classics
Washington and Lee University

Dr. Mark Butler
Professor of Biological Sciences
Old Dominion University

Dr. Gary Downey
Professor of Science and Technology in Society
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Dr. Eden King (Rising Star recipient)
Assistant Professor of Psychology
George Mason University

Dr. Robert Kolvoord (Teaching with Technology recipient)
Professor of Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University

Dr. James O’Brien
Professor of Psychology
Tidewater Community College

Dr. Domnica Radulescu
Professor of Romance Languages
Washington and Lee University

Dr. Kenneth Rasmussen
Professor of Geology
Northern Virginia Community College

Dr. John Barkley Rosser, Jr.
Professor of Economics and Business Administration
James Madison University

Mr. James Ryan
Professor of Law
University of Virginia

The recipients will be recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, knowledge integration, and public service during a February 17 ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond. This year’s recipients were selected from a highly competitive pool of 106 applicants. Since the first awards ceremony in 1987, a total of 292 Virginia faculty members - including the 2011 recipients - have received this high honor.

SCHEV is the Commonwealth’s coordinating body for Virginia’s system of higher education. The agency provides policy guidance and budget recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly, and is a resource for information on higher education issues for Virginia colleges and universities. SCHEV has administered the Outstanding Faculty Awards since its inception in 1986. Photos and information about each of this year's recipients can be found on the web at

Dominion is one of the nation’s largest producers of energy, with a portfolio of more than 27,500 megawatts of generation. Dominion serves retail energy customers in 13 states. For more information about Dominion, visit the company’s Web site at